The Zvono Award

The ZVONO Award 2018 – Jury members

Karina Kottovà, curator & director of the Jindřich Chalupecký Society, Prague/CZE

In the last couple of weeks remaining until the closure of the open call for The ZVONO Award 2018, we are very pleased to introduce to you closer the members of the jury.

Karina Kottová (*1984) is a curator and theoretician of contemporary art based in Prague, Czech Republic (CZE). Currently she is a director of the Jindřich Chalupecký Society. Her previous affiliations include MeetFactory international center for contemporary art (2012-15), DOX Centre for Contemporary Art (2009-12) and Museum Kampa (2007-2009). Among projects she established and co-established are INI Project, an independent process-oriented project space, the Věra Jirousová Award for art critics, or UMA Audioguide. She is interested in the psychological and emotional impact of current socio-political challenges as well as in feminist theory and the subversive potential of the so-called “feminine” qualities, such as empathy, irrationality or intuition.
Kottová earned a BA in Humanities from the Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic and an MA in Art and Heritage: Policy, Management and Education from Universiteit Maastricht, the Netherlands. In 2015 she defended her PhD thesis on “The Institution and the Viewer” in at Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic. In 2012 she was a Fulbright-Masaryk scholar affiliated with the Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts, New York.